The Day You Left, I Filled My Chest With Poetry

Thought Catalog

The day you left I filled up my chest with poetry. My sternum became protruded with all the forgotten love in strangers. Flowers kept blooming when I realized they were for me. The lonely whisper of betrayal was stamped firmly on your neck. Purple was my favorite color, a sign of royalty and courage. But it became blurred in my vision when I closed the door behind me and inhaled all the pollen to blame it on allergies.

When I got home, I apologized. As though my feelings and reaction weren’t allowed and not validated by the marks of someone else on your skin. I let myself fall apart and blamed my tightly sewed up wounds for never letting you in. They ripped open and bled me out while my friends offered sounds and alcohol to disinfect the cuts. I then gargled mouthwash to burn away the taste of you.

View original post 343 more words

Leave a Reply

