Why I Never Texted You Back

Thought Catalog

I’m sorry I didn’t respond to your text message – the one where I was supposed to confirm the time and location of our date. I told you that I would, but I didn’t. It’s not that I forgot, either. I wasn’t run off my feet at work, or unable to find an appropriate moment. I spent the entire day at home, cooking and writing and thinking and polishing off an $8 bottle of red wine. I had the time.

I hate that I didn’t text you back, because I know how it feels to wait for a message that never arrives. If you’re anything like me, which I suspect you might be, you’ll probably start by concocting a long list of excuses – because, for whatever reason, you like me, and that’s what we do for people we like. We give them passes, whether or not they deserve them…

View original post 357 more words

Leave a Reply

